Firefighter veterans honoured at ceremony

WEB CFA Group Awards 7707 pe c5 20181025
AWARD RECIPIENTS: (back row) Maurice Welsh, Neil Brock, Garry Allen, Tony Skermer, Max Allen. (second row) John Bannand, Gordan Kerris, Ivan Lewis, Kevin McMahon, George Bennett, Stewert Kreltszheim, Arthur Bennett, Graeme Norman, Ken Heywood, Graeme Colson and Jim Buchan. (third row)Garry Cook, Geoffrey Watson, Phillip McPherson, Edward Duffus, Peter Wadley, Mary Ferguson, James Neary, Ron Hooper, Kevin Atteridge and Inspector Kerrie Hicks.

COUNTRY Fire Authority volunteers who have served the community for over 30 years in rural brigades within the Rural City of Wangaratta were celebrated at an awards dinner in Wangaratta earlier this month.

Garry Nash, deputy group officer for the Wangaratta Fire Brigade Group, said the evening at the Wangaratta Gateway was attended by around 120 people.

“We thought it was long overdue for a group get together and with over 20 members receiving a life membership medal, we were right,” Mr Nash said.


… to read the full story, click here to access the digital edition

  • Get your subscriptions

    Download subscription form
  • Home delivered

    Home delivered