• Indi boundary objections

    WEB Electorate Changes pe c4 20180430
    ON THE TABLE: A map of the proposed electoral changes.

    PROPOSED boundary changes to the federal seat of Indi have garnered objections, as well as support, in the handful of public submissions lodged with the Australian Electoral Commission (AEC).

    Submissions on the proposed boundary change – to include a section of Strathbogie Shire, taking in Euroa and Violet Town, but remove the eastern section of Moira Shire (including Tungamah) from Indi into Murray – closed earlier this month.All objections are published on the AEC’s website (www.aec.gov.au) and people can lodge a submission commenting on any of the objections up until this Friday.

    The Nationals were the only political party to make comment on the Indi change, accepting “the logic of transferring the remainder of Moira Shire Council from the division of Indi” into Murray.

    The party, however, objects to the proposed transfer of the eastern part of Strathbogie Shire Council to the division of Indi, “which unnecessarily splits the shire into two”.

    To compensate for Strathbogie Shire Council remaining in its current division of Murray, the Nationals propose the southern boundary be drawn to the south of Seymour, but to the north of Broadford, which would remain in McEwen.

    … to read the full story, click here to access the digital edition

    • Get your subscriptions

      Download subscription form
    • Home delivered

      Home delivered

  • Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!