Brunner on track again

WEB_John Brunner_pe_c5_20160224
REIGNING CHAMP: John Brunner (main) will chase his fourth straight WLTC men’s open singles club championship, while Kelly Bucewicz took out the ladies’ open singles title for the second time last weekend. PHOTOS: Luke Plummer

THE Wangaratta Lawn Tennis Club Championships are set to conclude this weekend, with John Brunner looking to join John McVean, Terry Longton and Matt Allen as the only players to have taken out the men’s open singles (MOS) crown four years in a row.

McVean won an incredible 12 straight titles from 1986-97, Longton was undefeated for eight consecutive years from 1978-85 and Allen held the mantle of MOS club champion from 2004-08.

Brunner will go toe-to-toe with Brendan Liddell at 1pm Sunday in a repeat of last year’s MOS final after the pair got through their quarter and semi final clashes last weekend.

Brunner defeated Sam Allen 6-4, 6-2 in the quarter finals, then bounced back from a set down to vanquish nine-time MOS club champion Matt Allen, 4-6, 6-4, 6-3.

Liddell got through without dropping a set, accounting for Carmine Adamo 6-2, 6-2 before battling past Doug Smith 6-2, 7-6.

Last year Brunner defeated Liddell 6-3, 6-4 to claim his third straight MOS title.

The ladies open singles (LOS) final was won by Kelly Bucewicz on Sunday.

In a repeat of the 2014 LOS final, Bucewicz defeated Lisa Beck 6-2, 6-4 after cruising past Janelle Hartwig 6-2, 6-2 in the semis.

Ladies open doubles winners were Hartwig and Wendy Hogan, who got the job done against mother and daughter team Mandy and Georgia Allen, 6-1, 6-3.

Brian Scobie won the men’s B singles title, defeating Michael Falkenburg 8-3, while Geoff Davidson and Pat Flynn were the men’s B doubles winners, getting past Mark Ashmead and Max McAuliffe 8-5.

… to read the full story, click here to access the digital edition

  • Get your subscriptions

    Download subscription form
  • Home delivered

    Home delivered