Big night for Rotary changeover

COMMUNITY AWARD: NESAY chairman and local police inspector David Ryan, (pictured, with wife Jo) was awarded a Paul Harris Fellowship in recognition of his work with youth and the community. PHOTO: Kylie Wilson.

MEMBERS and friends of the Rotary Club of Appin Park gathered at the Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway on Saturday night for club’s annual changeover dinner.

About 80 guests attended the event, with Bill Gerritsen appointed as incoming president, taking over the role from Northeast Health Wangaratta chief executive officer, Margaret Bennett.

The club was also awarded the presidential citation from Rotary in recognition of its accomplishments over the past year, and its contribution to Rotary’s organisational goals.

As one of her last official acts as club president, Ms Bennett inducted Paul and Rachel Hogan as new members, which bolstered the club’s membership to 37.

In one of the major announcements of the night, North East Support and Action for Youth Inc (NESAY) chairman and local police inspector, David Ryan, was awarded a Paul Harris Fellowship in recognition of his community efforts and work with youth.

“David’s commitment and passion for community development is extraordinary, and as a Paul Harris fellow, David joins a group of people across the world acknowledged for their extensive contribution to their community in the Rotary spirit of ‘service above self,” Ms Bennett said.

Two Pride of Workmanship awards were also presented to Rural City of Wangaratta employee, Greg Vonarx, for his outstanding work as council’s groundskeeper, and Goulburn Ovens TAFE commercial operations manager, Andrew Kay, for his contribution in promoting tertiary education opportunities locally.

To continue reading this story, click here to access our digital edition

Search North East Directory

Quickly search over 1,800 local business listings to find the product or service you need

Stay connected

Your news

Home delivered

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!