• Bruck takes cup


    BRUCK Cricket Club is celebrating its fourth A grade premiership in five years after fighting off a determined Beechworth to claim the Geoff Welch Cup once again yesterday.

    The Wangaratta and District Cricket Association heavyweight was on the ropes a couple of times as the Wanderers, playing off in their first A grade grand final, pulled a few rabbits out of their hat.

    While the likes of Jarod Thomson, Richie Worcester, Jaecob Tolley, Matt Hunt and Matt Ryan have led the way with the ball this season, claiming 114 wickets between them, it was surprise first change Kayde Surrey who got the major breakthroughs.

    Surrey bowled WDCA Team of the Year opener Jordan Blades for 17 and had Hamish Busk caught behind for six to have Bruck in dire straits at 4/29.

    The Wanderers further strengthened their grip on the cup when Jon Hyde (2) and Jeremy Wilson (0) were both removed in the same Tomson over, seeing Bruck collapse to 6/47.

    But a gritty display from veterans Darren Petersen and Andrew Balfour was the start of the rescue mission.

    Both took their time to get set, with Petersen hitting just two boundaries in his haul of 38, before he was caught off the bowling of Ryan.

    Balfour was on 27 when he became Surrey’s third victim, and again Beechworth had its sights set on a quick kill, with Bruck staggering at 8/112.

    But with the luxury of having skipper Adam McNamara come in at nine, followed by all rounder Mark Higgs at 10, Bruck still had plenty of runs left in it.

    … to read the full story, click here to access the digital edition

    • Get your subscriptions

      Download subscription form
    • Home delivered

      Home delivered

  • Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!